September 22, 2023

When Gurpreet Singh Sandhu saved the ultimate shot of the penalty shoot-out from Kuwait captain Khalid El-Ebrahim, the Indian followers, who had crammed the Sree Kanteerava Stadium in Bengaluru to the brim, celebrated like by no means earlier than because the hosts had received their report ninth title on the South Asian Soccer Federation (SAFF) Championship. India received on the penalty shoot-out 5-4 after the match ended 1-1 in regulation time (90 minutes) plus additional time (half-hour). 

Solely Udanta Singh missed the shot from India 

After the match went into the shoot-out, Udanta Singh Kumam, who took the fourth shot for India, was the one one to overlook from the house aspect. Sunil Chhetri, Sandesh Jhingan, Lalrinzuala Chhangte, Subhashish Bose and Naorem Mahesh Singh scored for the house staff. From Kuwait, their skipper and final penalty taker Khalid El Ebrahim and first taker Mohammad Abdullah Daham missed the photographs. 

Kuwait took the lead

Earlier within the night, guests Kuwait, who should not a part of the SAFF however one of many two invited members alongside Lebanon from the West Asian Soccer Federation (WAFF), took the lead with a aim from Shabib Al Khaldi within the 14th minute. India have been in shock for a while earlier than realising what had occurred. 

Chhangte introduced India again

After realising that they have been behind, the Indian gamers pulled issues again and winger Lalrinzuala Chhangte introduced the Blue Tigers again on stage phrases. It was a cross from Sahal Abdul Smad that Chhangte netted. Nevertheless, the ball was made by Ashique Kuruniyan who received it from the Kuwaiti defence after which handed on to Chhetri who threaded it to Sahal. 

Simply earlier than the aim, Anwar Ali needed to be stretched away after he was injured. Mehtab Singh changed him. 

The second half was goalless

The second half in addition to the 2 additional occasions led to zero targets, however six yellow playing cards. 4 of the six playing cards went to Kuwait, who wished to get the match into the penalty shoot-out greater than anything. Gurpreet Singh saved a sure aim within the 92nd minute. Chhangte, who was awarded the senior participant of the yr (male) award by All India Soccer Federation (AIFF) earlier as we speak, hit one over the bar within the additional time, failing to provide India the lead.  

The scorecard remained 1-1 on the finish of 120 minutes plus additional time when it was pushed to the penalty shoot-out.